cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Vlan Trunking, ISP question.

easternhanlai
Level 1
Level 1

I'm new to networking and trying to understand why our consults configured our network the way they did.  

To our L3 core switch, we have one port,  gig0/2, connected to an ASA via access port vlan 2 that is connected to one our of ISPs.  The ASA (10.1.1.2) is the default route.  Simple enough.  We also have another port connected to our ISP (Optiman) switch via a trunk port.  This configuration goes as follows.  

Interface GigabitEthernet1/4

description **Opteman**

switchport access vlan 7

switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q

switchport trunk native vlan 7

switchport mode trunk

interface Vlan7

ip address 172.16.7.1 255.255.255.0

We also have static routes pointing to that network.  

ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 10.1.1.2

ip route 192.16.88.0 255.255.252.0 172.16.7.2

1) My questions are, since the switch port is in mode trunk, does the "switch port access vlan 7" command do nothing?

2) Since there are no port on the core configured with vlan 7 as an access port, so how does the switch know which port to route traffic to 172.16.7.2?  Does it sent it out all trunk ports?  

3) What purpose would the command "switch port trunk native vlan 7" serve in this configuration.  

I know that the route 192.16.88.0 goes through our Optiman connection, I guess my overall issue is I don't know how.  Thanks for the help.

2 Replies 2

pankaj kumar
Level 1
Level 1

Hi ,

1) My questions are, since the switch port is in mode trunk, does the "switch port access vlan 7" command do nothing?

that is a misconfiguration.

2) Since there are no port on the core configured with vlan 7 as an access port, so how does the switch know which port to route traffic to 172.16.7.2?  Does it sent it out all trunk ports?  

I am not sure about this please check it

for first time it may flood and the after it will learn the port and then can use the mac address table to forward the packet.