cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

RV180W Set-up Wizard

Kenneth Bertram
Level 1
Level 1

The wizard keeps giving me an error msg that it can't detect the internet. I seem to be able to configure this router manually. My ISP is comcast and the router is behind an Arris TM722G eMTA. The Arris manual indicates that I should use a crossover cable to connect to the Router. Is this required? I am using a patch cable and as I say I can manually configure the router. I tried the Small Business phone support but quite frankly I could not understand the people. I have a lot of other questions regarding this router but I would like to get this problem resolved first. Thanks for any assistance.

Ken                

10 Replies 10

Eric Moyers
Level 7
Level 7

Hi, My name is Eric Moyers. I am a Network Support Engineer in the Cisco Small Business Support Center. Thank you for using the Cisco Community Post Forums.

What time are you calling into the Small Business Support Center? Our Center is located in South Carolina and except for some hours, (1am to 8am) Eastern all support is through here for this device.

Are you calling 1-866-606-1866?

Thanks

Eric Moyers

Cisco Network Advanced Support Engineer

SBSC Wireless and Surveillance SME

CCNA, CCNA-Wireless

1-866-606-1866

Hi Kenneth, the Arris TM722G eMTA is a modem/router product. I have seen this once before about 3 weeks ago. The setup Wizard may fail if it detects a double-nat or receiving a private IP on the WAN connection. That is not always the case. Another possible reason for the failure is because of the double-nat subnet corresponds to the RV180 subnet. If the WAN detects 192.168.1.x and the RV180 is 192.168.1.1 you'd have to change the RV180 to 192.168.2.x before the configuration process or change your modem.

The router's WAN doesn't have a preference for straight or crossover. But, if your modem requests a specific cable, it is best to abide.