cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

SG200-08 http server memory leak?

Ivan Rios
Level 1
Level 1

This is my first post here, so please forgive me if things aren't spot on. Chat support suggested I report this issue here. Heavy/regular use of the web interface will eventually result in crash and restart.

I got some new SG200-08 switches here to test since a few weeks ago, and they are all running newest firmware (1.0.8.3). I am a beginner with managed switches, so they have nothing extra configured at this moment (beyond factory settings) except perhaps SNTP and added a user account and small things like that.

I got these units to learn how to apply managed switches in a small business (home and office) environment, but I quickly got stuck because they do not have SNMP (even though the Cisco website claims this model should have this feature). I had to figure out a way to monitor traffic, so I have a cURL script that grabs the "Total Bytes (Octets)" values from the Statistics/Interface page in the web interface at 60 second intervals so I can generate traffic graphs in PRTG.

But I quickly noticed that the allocated memory on the switch would be spent, and it would not be freed up later on. Memory that is used will be locked up forever until the switch reaches ~98% allocated memory - and then the switch (literally) crashes and restarts.

I tried some troubleshooting, involving not using my cURL script, and instead I let the switches have the web interface open, with 15 second refresh. The same thing happens - at an even faster rate. It seems to consume more resources having a browser sending POSTDATA at regular intervals than having my cURL script retrieve data "manually" at regular intervals. It takes 2-3 days and the switch will crash and restart.

I am able to reproduce this issue on all my switches.