cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

SDA VRF

CiscoIPMAN
Level 1
Level 1

We are starting to implement SDA where I work and one of the engineers mentioned a "general VRF" to support different customers. Does anyone else have a config of a single vrf for multiple customers? Do they run separate VN's? It seems to me to defeats the purpose of a VRF. I am new to SDA so any clarification on the topic would help.

9 Replies 9

Hi

The definition of VRF in the SDA is exactly the same for legacy network.  Continue to represent on isolated  Virtual Routing table inside the fabric switch. For general VRF the engineer must be reffering to the global routing table.

glocal_routing_table.JPG

Thank you Flavio. Does the VN make up the VRF? Could I have a VRF with multiple VN associated?

Thanks

VN and VRF have different meaning.  If the VN is a Layer 3 VN, then, yes, you can attach it to a VRF and yes, you can have multiples L3 VN on the same VRF,  but you can also have Layer 2 VN. On this case, you dont have VRF.

VN would more like a VLAN.  VRF is the same VRF as always.

Thank you Flavio. One last question. If I can place multiple L3 VN's on the same VRF is security and same addressing not going to work?

Example is Customer A does not want Customer B to be able to see their network traffic and both customer A and B use the address space of 10.10.10.0/24.

For environment with multiple Customer, the solution must be differents VRF. This way you can have the same address for different customer and they can not see each others traffic.

DNAC will not allow creating two subnet/pools with the same or overlapping subnet under the same VRF. The device itself would reject the command.

In DNAC 2.3.3.x (around July 2022), the overlapping feature support is added, but that only allows deploying the same subnet into different VRFs, which are already segmented by VRF-lite.