cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

5505 proper nat command (v9.1) - cisco newb diving in!

alceryes3
Level 1
Level 1

So I just picked up an ASA and have been exercising my google-foo and reading cisco whitepapers to get it going. I'm a systems admin and have plenty of Windows networking experience so I'm not at a total loss but am getting stuck on the nat command. There's tons of info on the old 'global' command but not much on the new 'nat'. So far I've -

Upgraded firmware to the latest v9.1

Got SSH going (created passwords)

create inside and outside VLANs (1 and 2 respecitvely)

set ethernet 0/0 to VLAN 2

set ethernet 0/1 to VLAN 1

(a few other thing like set hostname, set time, etc..)

(I think) The next thing to do is to get the inside talking to the outside. So I am trying the following command and receive the following error -

PORTCULLIS(config)# object network inside-outside-nat

PORTCULLIS(config-network-object)# subnet 172.22.222.222 255.255.255.224

ERROR: network: IP address/mask <172.22.222.222/255.255.255.224> doesn't pair

...not sure why they 'don't pair'. I'm still crawling through web links but I thought I'd drop by here as one of you experts may be able to help me out 1, 2, 3...

8 Replies 8

joelgooding
Level 1
Level 1

the first thing you have to do is you have to set a route to carry inside traffic out. route all traffic to the outside:

ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0

eg: ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 190.25.12.1

or : ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 FastEthernet0/0

if you are trying to nat, please state the IOS version you have on the ASA as from 8.4 up natting is a little different.

Joel

Joel _______________________________ Please rate helpful posts and answered questions!

Thanks joelgooding, my IOS version is 9.1.

Also, just to clarify, the "ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 ethernet 0/0" command is just going to route all traffic that can't be resolved internally, right?