cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Adding subnets to ASA 5505 basic

ken.hoover1
Level 1
Level 1

I am very new to configuring firewalls. I will be adding virtual servers to our network that attach to a Layer 3 HP 2920 switch.  There are also subnets configured on the switch (for the virtual cluster). I need to know how to configure my ASA 5505 firewall to allow these subnets to talk to the domain and be protected.  I have attached a network diagram of sorts.  I would prefer to perform the configuration via the ASDM, if possible, as I have never been good at CLI.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.  I inherited this task and have never configured a firewall before.  Can this be done with a basic license?

23 Replies 23

These screen shots are helpful. The good news is that the way your dynamic NAT rule is set up will work just fine as it is for the new subnets, as you add them. So there is no additional configuration required for address translation.

The screen shot for routing shows routing for the connected inside network to outside. As you add more subnets inside your network you will need to configure routing on the ASA to reach those subnets through the inside interface.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

At least some of it is correct. I have attached a screen shot with two subnets added. Does this look correct. For example my switch IP is 10.10.0.108 and one of the subnets is 10.10.30.1

With the subnet mask of 255.255.255.255 you have added host specific routes. If you want to route the subnet then you need to change the subnet mask in the routes. Probably it would be 255.255.255.0 but the specifics of the mask depend on how you have designed your subnetting. But the screen shot shows that you are on the right path.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

Thank you so much for all your help. I will continue on this path and see if everything can connect once configured. Thanks again!!