cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Basic internetwork communication

RugbyWreck
Level 1
Level 1

Firstly I'll apologise because I've no doubt this sort or thing has been asked before but having read through dozens of answers they seem to be of a much higher level than I require currently.

I am completely new to the Cisco world and have literally just started on the CCNA material so my knowledge is very limited to say the least and I'm obviously missing something in getting this basic setup working.

I have a Cisco 1841 router running IOS version 15.1 and I have set up the fast Ethernet interfaces as follows:

Fa0/0 has an IP address of 192.168.1.1 with a subnet mask of 255.255.255.192

Fa0/1 has an IP address of 192.168.1.65 with a subnet mask of 255.255.255.192

I also have two PC's set up as follows:

PC 1 has an IP address of 192.168.1.20 with a mask of 255.255.255.192 and a default gateway of 192.168.1.1

PC 2 has an IP address of 192.168.1.100 with a mask of 255.255255.192 and a default gateway of 192.168.1.65

My issue is that the router itself can ping all of the listed IP's without a problem, however, whilst the PC's can both ping both interfaces on the router they cannot ping each other, I just keep getting a "Request timed out" message.

I have made sure that the command "ip routing" has been issued at a global configuration level on the router so based on a very basic network I thought this would work?

Is there something ore fundamental to this set-up that I've missed? None of the literature that I've read up to now suggests anything else that needs doing for this basic set-up to work.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi Joseph,