Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cannot ping certain VLANs

Hi all, this is my first time posting in the community. As a beginner, naturally, there are simple things that I still don't understand, I hope someone may help me. Please can you consider the following scenario:

- In my network, I have two main switches Catalyst 3750-X working as L3 routers, each one in different locations, routing the same VLANs (approximately 30). The thing is that although they're routing the same VLANs, the VLANs are routed having different IPs on each switch, something similar to this (the numbers are just examples):

Switch 1 IP routing

(IP xxx.xxx.0.1)

Switch 2 IP routing

(IP xxx.xxx.0.2)

VLAN1 xxx.xxx.1.1 xxx.xxx.1.2
VLAN2 xxx.xxx.2.1 xxx.xxx.2.2
VLAN3 xxx.xxx.3.1 xxx.xxx.3.2
VLAN4 xxx.xxx.4.1 xxx.xxx.4.2
VLAN5 xxx.xxx.5.1 xxx.xxx.5.2
VLAN6 xxx.xxx.6.1 xxx.xxx.6.2
VLAN7 xxx.xxx.7.1 xxx.xxx.7.2
VLAN8 xxx.xxx.8.1 xxx.xxx.8.2

...and so on for all the other VLANs. The subnet mask is /24 to all VLAN.

Now, let's say that a device is on VLAN 2, for example, listening to the router 2, its gateway will be xxx.xxx.2.2 . Even though my PC's gateway is xxx.xxx.0.1 (router 1), I can ping the device without any problem. 

This works fine for most of my VLANs regardless the PCs or devices' gateways/VLANs. However, I'm trying to add some other VLANs to the system, following the pattern mentioned above, and, unless my PC is configured to same router as the device, I cannot ping it. In other words, the example that I mentioned above does not work. For my PC to see a device that is on VLAN 31, listening to router 1 (IP routing would be xxx.xxx.31.1), my PC's gateway must be configured to router 1 as well (xxx.xxx.0.1).