Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 2960x Vlans cannot access internet

Nick8
Level 1
Level 1

Greetings

While i have some knowledge of ccna, ive spent afew days now unsuccessfully configuring this 2960x switch to let its 2nd vlan access the internet (via going through vlan 1 into the primary LAN)

I have two vlans:

vlan 1 (default) - 172.16.0.120/24  Gi0/1 , Gi0/2 

vlan 2 - 10.0.1.1/24       Gi0/3 ~ Gi0/24 (This vlan is configured for igmp and multicast)

Gi0/1 is connected to the primary unmanaged network switch. The default gateway firewall also connects to this same unmanaged switch. (at 172.16.0.70)

When I connect my PC to Gi0/2, it can access dhcp, internet etc. without issue

When i connect my PC to any port in vlan 2, i cannot even ping the default gateway, let alone access the internet

Ive tried the following routing methods already to no success:

ip default-network 172.16.0.0

ip route 172.16.0.0 255.255.0.0 10.0.1.1 

(and quite afew variations... but i've cleared the routing table now to get a fresh restart on this)

Am I misunderstanding something with these routings?

Thanks in advance!

4 Replies 4

Alan Ng'ethe
Level 3
Level 3

Perhaps you can be a little more specific on where you are putting in these commands? ip default-network et al..?

Nevertheless, what you are attempting to do is route between vlans, aka inter-vlan routing, on a layer 2 switch -a 2960x.

You have provided little information to go on, but what i gather is that the 10 series network needs to be routed to the default gateway at 172.16.0.70.

The way i see this working is by one of two ways; and both involve changes to some of the upstream devices you have mentioned in your post.

One; since you are familiar with ccna, you may have heard of the term router on a stick. You would trunk the switches together, passing both vlans, and tagging the vlans on to the gateway device's subinterfaces.