cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

DHCP Relay in Cisco Packet Tracer

aiden21c
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all, Im a beginner to CPT and i am hoping someone can assist me for an assignment coming up.

I am having trouble configuring a DHCP relay from a DHCP server to a network consisting of multiple routers, with their devices on their own networks. The three main issues I am having are:

1. When one of the networks connected directly to the server has DHCP configured, the other network looses connection and can o longer reach the server. These two networks are outlined in blue in the png attached
  2. I am unsure whether or not there is a way to chain DHCP relays between routers, in which the connection is as follows: DHCP server -> router/network 1 -> router/network 2. I have been unable to configure DHCP in this second network when attempting to relay between multiple routers.
  3. I have a broken connection (red in the png) attempting to connect the two networks as outlines in q2. I am unsure where this is wrong.

I have attached both the .pkt and .png files. Any help would be greatly appreciated as I have struggled to find help for this anywhere. Cheers

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello,

the helper addresses go on the LAN interfaces. I corrected a lot of wrong IP addressing, find attached the working file.

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

Hello,

the helper addresses go on the LAN interfaces. I corrected a lot of wrong IP addressing, find attached the working file.

Thank you so much for your help. I have spent the morning attempting to copy your configuration changes but no matter what ive tried, i just cant seem to get PC4 to obtain IP through DHCP. I played around with the network you made and it works perfectly i just cant seem to figure out what ive done wrong when implementing it myself.