cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Emulate a "captive portal" through router configuration (VLAN?)

bohnjerry
Level 1
Level 1

Warning!!  Cisco newbie here!  (Sorry for the layman's terms)

Have an 1811 router and a WAP321.  Unfortunatley the "built in" captive portal off of the wireless AP isn't what I envisioned off the sales description of the WAP321.  I've attempted (before I replaced this business's string of home routers with the Cisco 1811 router) to use NoCatSplash on a junk router, and got close to what I need, except for the routing "interference" DD-WRT introduced onto their network (again, those big box store wireless routers strung through the place).

This business is a mishmash of just about everything, paid-for meeting hall, office space rentals, simulcast broadcasts.. so I guess a business of gathering people :P

Anyway, being where people meet for all sorts of events and meetings, they wanted an AP that would present one thing.. event content.  They would like an unsecured AP, but only redirect them to one site.. ever.  No sign-in.. agreeing to terms.. just connect to the AP with a smartphone or laptop, connect to the AP and open a browser.  They want to see a "webpage of the day" with whatever content attached (meeting agendas, schedules, perhaps download links to forms or videos).

NoCatSpash can do that, by simply removing the code that allows people to select the terms of service.  Being as this is a commerical product, I would assume the "function" (WAP321 and it's "captive portal") would have many options and configurations, but still have the ability to "play nice" with the rest of the network,  I was wrong.

I figured I'd fall back and instead of arguing with this canned "solution" that I make my own, though possibly a VLAN configuration that I would attach this SSID to.

I didn't attach a config.. since there isn't any for this, yet.