Views
Helpful
Replies

Firstimer using Cisco Router

Bryan Librojo
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Guys,

I'm Khris, and im new in cisco routers, i never been using cisco routers before and now i have to work for it because i needed to.

i have cisco c887va-w-e-k9 router and its already reset to its default config. as in no configuration at all, im new in cisco thats why i read a couple of websites about cisco until i know some basic commands from youtube, and i dont know what is the certificate that i will see in the running config is important because it say that it was expired. what i want to be done is below

1. internet access

2. dhcp

3. wireless connection

i tried to configure the internet and dhcp, but i got a problem in dhcp, it does not release any ip on the network, to try the internet is working i put static ip address on lan and its working fine, my problem is the dhcp that is not providing any ip in the network. i reset again the router to make it clear.. is there anyone who can help me, i know my problem is not that difficult because what i really need to be done in my router is just a basic configuration. but like what i said, its my firs-time configuring a cisco router thats why im having a hard time on it...if there's anyone who have their spare time to help me is to much appreciated..sorry for my english...english is our second language. im looking forward for someone to help me with my problem..thanks cisco.

64 Replies 64

Hi Khris,

This is an example for the DHCP configuration

ip dhcp pool NETWORK-A-DHCP-SCOPE    <--- To create the DHCP scope
network 192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0    <--- DHCP for the network
default-router 192.168.1.1    <--- Default gateway of the subnet
dns-server 8.8.8.8 4.4.4.4     <--- DNS servers to be provided

ip dhcp excluded-address 192.168.1.1    <--- exclude the gateway or other IPs from the leasing.