cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Interface template bug on IOS XE 16.12.4?

Skjoedt
Level 1
Level 1

--- UPDATE 2! ---
Might be hitting this bug: https://bst.cloudapps.cisco.com/bugsearch/bug/cscvw45158
--- UPDATE 2! ---
--- UPDATE! ---
If I select both the NEAT VSA and the Interface Template VSA at the same time in my AuthZ Profile in ISE, then the feature is working as intended and my AP can get an IP from DHCP.
- See the new attached picture.

However, when I shutdown/disconnect the switchport, then the switchport is only partially returned to the previous configuration.
The command "switchport trunk native vlan 201" from the interface template somehow gets changed to "switchport access vlan 201" and left behind in the interface configuration, even though the command was not present in the interface configuration before authentication.
--- UPDATE! ---

Hello

I am currently studying for the CCIE Wireless and in my studies I am currently doing labs on 802.1x switchport authentication with AP's.

The issue I am seeing and what I suspect is a bug on the switch, is that when I connect an AP to the switchport, the AP is authenticated and allowed to pass traffic, I can also see with the "Show Interface Trunk" command, that the AP is connected on a trunk, that the Native VLAN is 201 and that all VLANs are in the forwarding state and not pruned.
However, the AP does not get an IP from DHCP and when debugging on the switch, I can see that the switch never receives any DHCP Discovery from the AP.

The gotcha comes when I introduce the command "switchport access vlan 201" on the switchport before authentication.
Now when the AP authenticates, everything looks the same in the "Show Interface Trunk" command and everywhere else, but this time the AP does get an IP from DHCP and I can see the switch getting a DHCP Discovery etc.