cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Router and Switch help!!

wright-joshua
Level 1
Level 1

Hi I am a networking student in my first year and i have to build a network using packet tracer

I have the network built and one networks ip address is 192.168.1.0 with 18 computers and then i have another network 192.168.2.0 and within each network i can get the computers to ping but when i am pinging a computer from 192.168.1.0 to another at 192.168.2.0 it wont ping?

I have a router from a server and then each switch connected to that router and then the computers conected to that switch?

Any help will be apreciated?

A screenshot of my network is attached

Thanks

Josh

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

You need to configure the router interfaces with IP addresses. Then point the default gateway of the your clients to the address you assigned on their local router interface. Since both of these networks are directly connected to the router you should not need any routing protocol, (rip) or even any static routes.

View solution in original post

Are the cards you installed into this router etherswitch modules? If so, they are only layer 2 capable and must be switched out for a layer 3 capable module, if you want to configure them as routed interfaces.

You are probably fine just connecting the to switches to 0/0 and 0/1, then attaching the the server to an etherswitch port, and assigning the IP address for the server subnet to an SVI (interface vlan 1).

View solution in original post

9 Replies 9

Gregory Snipes
Level 4
Level 4

There are a bunch of things that could be wrong here.

Could you post up the configs from your network decives, or at least the router?

wright-joshua
Level 1
Level 1

Here they are

Thanks

Josh