cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Spanning Tree and the path data will take

burleyman
Level 8
Level 8

When Studying for my CCNA exam I had a pretty good understanding of STP but something never really clicked. Now I am studying for my CCNP Switch exam and now I am trying to make sure I have a much deeper grasp on things not only for the exam but for getting better at my job. I want to make sure I understand the path that data will take if STP is not setup in the best way. I have attached a diagram and here is my question.

Let’s say based on the diagram that the 10th floor switch (Switch D) is the Root bridge for all the VLAN’s, if a user on the 12th floor wanted to get to the server VLAN 3 it would take the path in red, correct? Or would it take the path in Blue? I think it is the path in Red but I just needed to clarify.

Thanks,

Mike

19 Replies 19

burleyman
Level 8
Level 8

Forgot to attach the diagram

Mike

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

burleyman wrote:

When Studying for my CCNA exam I had a pretty good understanding of STP but something never really clicked. Now I am studying for my CCNP Switch exam and now I am trying to make sure I have a much deeper grasp on things not only for the exam but for getting better at my job. I want to make sure I understand the path that data will take if STP is not setup in the best way. I have attached a diagram and here is my question.

Let’s say based on the diagram that the 10th floor switch (Switch D) is the Root bridge for all the VLAN’s, if a user on the 12th floor wanted to get to the server VLAN 3 it would take the path in red, correct? Or would it take the path in Blue? I think it is the path in Red but I just needed to clarify.

Thanks,

Mike

Mike

Need a bit more info. Is the user in a different vlan than the server ?

Where is the HSRP active gateway for the user vlan and the server vlan ?