cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

spanning tree pvst or rapid-pvst

SystemAdminNet
Level 1
Level 1

I am in process of upgrading network configurations and performance issues .Currently we have Core / Distribution and Access Layer switches, But all are just hooked up into each other with default configurations (except they are configured with IP Addresses) .

Currently

At Core i have Cisco 3750 L3 and Cisco 3550 (disconnected )

At Distribution i have Cisco 2960 (x5) and Cisco 2950

At Access i have all Cisco 2950 (almost x 40) Switches.

I have some redundant links at Distributions and some at Access layer .Spanning tree in enabled but problem in my network is that my network is working ok some time and all of sudden some distribution or access switches goes off line and i cannot even ping or telnet them .So when i restart the specific switches then this works again but some time of day this problem raise/occur again .So i studied some switching concepts and now want to trouble shoot and upgrade my configurations with the help from all senior guys to resolve these issues .

I have many questions in mind to make clear before i continue

1- Should i go with spanning tree (pvst or rapid-pvst) currently = pvst

2- Currently root bridge is not central i trace it through sh spanning tree and found that one of access layer switch is Root Bridge,So i have to make L3 switch as root bridge .butt How ?

3- I want fast convergence and loop free ,Also want end users to activate connections rapidly instead of waiting 30 to 60 seconds .currently my core and access switch configs are

MDF.CoreSwitch.1#sh spanning-tree summary
Switch is in pvst mode
Root bridge for: none
Extended system ID                   is enabled
Portfast Default                          is disabled
PortFast BPDU Guard Default     is disabled
Portfast BPDU Filter Default        is disabled
Loopguard Default                      is disabled
EtherChannel misconfig guard     is enabled