cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Sub-netting and basic concepts about Network

Hello All,

Greetings!

I am new to IP World.

1) I want to know more about the logic behind subnetting?

2) how subnetting is done?

3) what is the logic behind of not using Network ip for hosts or why it is not assigned to hosts?

4) and in case if we can use this Network ip for 1st host in that network and can tell all other hosts that they all comes under that Network IP only and which is assigned to first host? this way can't we save one of the IP from each subnet?

5) why don't we use 0.0.0.0 or what is the logic behind of not using ip address 0.0.0.0 for hosts?

6) why do we require broadcast address ?

7) is it possible to assign network ip as gateway ip ?

8) and what is the complete flow of communication between 2 hosts while communicating using HUB only?

That will be a great help from you, if you could clear these some of my doubts/ quries.

Thanking you in anticipation.

With Best Regards,

Abhinav Rastogi

2 Replies 2

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Disclaimer

The Author of this posting offers the information contained within this posting without consideration and with the reader's understanding that there's no implied or expressed suitability or fitness for any purpose. Information provided is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as rendering professional advice of any kind. Usage of this posting's information is solely at reader's own risk.

Liability Disclaimer

In no event shall Author be liable for any damages wha2tsoever (including, without limitation, damages for loss of use, data or profit) arising out of the use or inability to use the posting's information even if Author has been advised of the possibility of such damage.

Posting

#1 The logic behind classful subnetting is simply classful networks often are very wasteful of space.  For example, do you really want to use a whole class C network for a single point-to-point.