Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Untagged packets on native vlan

Hello, it's my first time posting here and I will very much appreciate your kind response guys. I was just wondering how does a switch handle untagged traffic? If an untagged tragfic from a vlan passed through a trunk going to another switch, will the receiving switch forward the untagged traffic to all the ports no matter what vlan they belong to since the traffic has no vlan mark on it? Why or why not? Thanks in advanced. :-)

-dar

23 Replies 23

Yep, and if I implied I was recommending such a configuration, such was not my intent.

However, to the OP, understand native or tagged VLAN traffic does not get mixed up on the same switch.

Again, keep in mind the access ports can belong to different VLANs and their traffic is also untagged as it goes in and out of a port.  Although it's untagged, it doesn't get mixed up on the same switch.

But, if you interconnect switches using access ports, which you can, like the above, you can have Switch 1 with an access port in VLAN 10 connect to Switch 2 with an access port in VLAN 20.  Again, something you would not normally do, and its also something, I recall, CDP will complain about.

Also to the OP, I don't know if you're familiar with switches that support "voice" VLANs on access ports.  On these ports, you have the "normal" untagged VLAN traffic, but you also have one additional VLAN whose traffic is sent/received with tagged frames.  Basically this is a "special" trunk port, only using two VLANs, one "native".

How does MSTP handle untagged packets? If I setup one of the MSTI instances (MSTI0) to handle VLAN ID = 1 will it also include both packets tagged with a VLAN ID =1 as well as packets that do not have a VLAN tag?   Thanks - mike