Views
Helpful
Replies

Upgdate IOS Cisco catalyst 2960S

John Bot
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm new in cisco switches and I have to upgrade current IOS CISCO Catalyst 2960S but first of all i want backup current ISO. So i used in cli: sh ver and i saw this:

System image file is "flash:/c2960s-universalk9-mz.122-55.SE3/c2960s-universalk9-mz.122-55.SE3.bin"

In many cases what i saw in internet the IOS bin was in flash directory (flash:/). Is it normal situation and how backup IOS and update?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Seb Rupik
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi there,

That boot variable indicates that archive download-sw command was used on a TAR file to install the currently running IOS. As such the .bin file is in a directory of the same name.

It is perfectly fine to copy the .bin file to flash: and update the boot var accordingly.

However using the universal image TAR file and the archive download-sw command gives you some additional arguments to help with software installations and would be my recommendation even if it is to just the /image-only flag.

To backup the image simply use the command:

copy flash:/c2960s-universalk9-mz.122-55.SE3/c2960s-universalk9-mz.122-55.SE3.bin tftp:

...or some other destination location/service of your choosing.

cheers,

Seb.

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

Seb Rupik
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi there,

That boot variable indicates that archive download-sw command was used on a TAR file to install the currently running IOS. As such the .bin file is in a directory of the same name.

It is perfectly fine to copy the .bin file to flash: and update the boot var accordingly.

However using the universal image TAR file and the archive download-sw command gives you some additional arguments to help with software installations and would be my recommendation even if it is to just the /image-only flag.

To backup the image simply use the command: