Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Windows7 AnyConnect connection issue

I have recently encountered a problem with cisco's VPN anyconnect.  I have read several posts describing problems similar to this one, but none of the resolutions posted for those questions resolved my issue, so I am appealing for help from the community.

I'm a doctoral student, and my university uses cisco's anyconnect VPN Client 2.5.6005.  I've used this in the past without difficulty, but I recently started encountering an error, which has stumped the IT department (and me) and I would appreciate any help you can give.

I'm running a windows7 64 bit machine.  When I connect to the university's system, I get a connection, some bytes are transferred and received, and, inevitably, 19 seconds later, I get disconnected.  The message that displays on this disconnect is: "a vpn reconnect resulted in different configuration settings. The VPN network interface is being reinitialized, please wait" .

This process repeats several times (the icon in the tray shifts between showing the locked connection and the warning exclamation point).  After four or five attempts, the connection gives up and displays the following message: "Connection was terminated due to a system routing table modification and could not be automatically re-established. A new connection is necessary, which requires re-authentication."

I have uninstalled and reinstalled (rebooting in between) several times ... twice making sure to go through the entire HD and delete anything cisco or VPN related after the uninstall to make sure that I didn't have "old" connections cluttering up the process. 

Trying to research the problem, I thought it might be the timing problem described here: https://supportforums.cisco.com/thread/2077005, which indicates that a similar problem was caused by invalid mtu settings, so I reset both the ipv4 and ipv6 netsh subinterfaces to 1200 ... no luck.