cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

AnyConnect VPN Question

hurricane05
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I'm fairly new to working with the Cisco AnyConnect for vpn access and wanted to know about uploading the latest version of the AnyConnect software via ASDM under Configuration \ Remote Access VPN \ Network (Client) Access \ AnyConnect Client Software area. Right now we only have one file listed there which is an older version. If I upload / replace that file with a new version, will that automatically force any existing AnyConnect workstations that connect to the VPN to be automatically upgraded to that version or does it only make it available via the HTTPS web interface for downloading manually?

Thx in advance for any advice given.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi @hurricane05 

If you upload a newer version to the ASA, then normally if a computer has an older version the client will automatically be upgraded next time they connect to the VPN. The exception to this is if you configure the anyconnect profile on the local computer to bypass the downloader, the client will then not upgrade. An automatic upgrade does not require administrator rights.

Depending on the size of your organisation you might want to push out the anyconnect client upgrade in a controlled manner using your management applications, such as SCCM.

HTH

View solution in original post

3 Replies 3

Hi @hurricane05 

If you upload a newer version to the ASA, then normally if a computer has an older version the client will automatically be upgraded next time they connect to the VPN. The exception to this is if you configure the anyconnect profile on the local computer to bypass the downloader, the client will then not upgrade. An automatic upgrade does not require administrator rights.

Depending on the size of your organisation you might want to push out the anyconnect client upgrade in a controlled manner using your management applications, such as SCCM.

HTH

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame