Views
Helpful
Replies

Dual FlexClient at Branch

Dapsy2000
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everybody,

I'm new to FlexVPN but I was implementing FlexVPNs during the last weeks in my lab.

I was asking myself if there is a way where I have two Routers configured as FlexVPN Clients at a branch office and have a kind of active/passive setup.

At HQ Site I have two FlexVPN Hubs configured as Load Balancer. At the branch I want to setup two FlexVPN Clients in Active/Passive Mode (if possible) where the active FlexVPN Client build the tunnel to the Load Balancer IP and in case the "active" FlexVPN Client has a failure, the second FlexVPN Client as a backup will build the new tunnel. After FlexVPN Client 1 comes back online it will take back the active status.

8 Replies 8

Hi Hans,
It's not something I've tried (yet....I might just lab it myself), but perhaps you could run HSRP on both of the spoke routers, on the Active router track connectivity to the Hub, if that fails, decrement the priority to failover to the 2nd router. The 2nd router would have a VPN already established but no traffic sent through it until it was the active HSRP router.

Hi RJI,

thanks for your reply. Your recommendation with HSRP is totally clear but the problem will appear on the other site at HQ, because both FlexVPN Clients at the Spoke will establish a tunnel to the hub. Then the hub will have two identical static routes via IKEv2 to the Spoke. I'm not running any dynamic routing protocol at the spoke or between hub and spoke. So I can't manipulate the metric for one route via one tunnel.

Hi Hans,

Ok, I understand. I've had a look around and don't see anything official. I've put some thought into a solution, however it is not an elegant solution.