cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Firepower Anyconnect - Certificate does not match server name

jlittle5376
Level 1
Level 1

I am trying to create a new certificate from a new CA server that has been created and i am receiving the error "Certificate does not match the server name" when trying to connect to the VPN.

I am using an internal CA to create the VPN certificate and i think i have done it correctly, i have tried just about a million ways of creating it.

Any thoughts or ideas on what could be causing the issue? I am relatively new to setting up AnyConnect and Firepower for that matter. So im sure its something simple im missing.

12 Replies 12

@jlittle5376 the common name (server name) of the certificate needs to match the fqdn name you enter when connecting to the VPN. So if you enter "vpn.domain.com" in anyconnect when you attempt to establish a VPN connection, then the common name of the certificate needs to be "vpn.domain.com".

If you connect to the IP address of the firewall but the common name is "vpn.domain.com" then it would error aswell.

Thanks Rob! So that may be our issue since we connect to the IP. So i am trying to pick up all the pieces since this was in place before my time. But it seemed to work with an Alias name before and it used the IP to connect and did not give that error. Would there be a way to still use the IP and not get this error? Would i maybe just need to enroll the certificate as the IP address as the CN?

@jlittle5376 yes that would work, though typically you use a FQDN to connect to. You could just register the name on the certificate with your public DNS provider, map the FQDN to the IP address.

So i have tried both ways and i still seem to receive the same error. If i am just using Radius for authentication do i need to install any certificates on the client? Could that be my issue?

@jlittle5376 the clients need to trust the CA that signed the certificate to the firewall.