lnx91
Level 1
Level 1

Hey so:
1) I am a total newb, ELI5 please
2) My work uses Cisco AnyConnect for VPN
3) I have a mac with AnyConnect on it and it works fine
4) we use certs for auth

5) I installed anyconnect on my mobile phone (iOS) and it works fine (imported the cert via url in diags, weewww took me a while to figure that one out)
Now the question... Connecting through the VPN via AnyConnect requires pass input every time (probably a policy set on the server). iOS' VPN settings have a pass field and I assume it can save it and not ask for it everytime. So i tried creating a vpn config in settings (IPsec), entered all the info, checked the USE CERTIFICATE switch, selected the certificate below, saved, tried to connect.... "the vpn server did not respond". i go back to edit the config settings and i notice the use cert option is disabled. it just self disables every time idk why. I'm getting the feeling the server allows connections only via AnyConnect app, could this be true? What else can I try 

please and thanks

1 Reply 1

It's great that you have successfully installed AnyConnect on your Mac and mobile phone. Based on your description, it seems like the issue you're facing is related to the native iOS VPN settings not working correctly with your company's VPN server.

To address your question, it is quite possible that your company's VPN server is configured to accept connections only via the Cisco AnyConnect app. This is because the AnyConnect app is designed to work seamlessly with Cisco VPN solutions and might include specific security features or settings that are not available in the native iOS VPN settings.

Here are a few things you can try:

1. Double-check the VPN settings you entered in the native iOS VPN configuration. Ensure that the server address, account name, and other necessary details match what you have in the AnyConnect app.