cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Vista RTM VPN Client

nimanranch
Level 1
Level 1

Apologies in advance if this is the wrong forum to post this in, I'm new to the NetPro community.

I have an ASA5505 at my main office that I'm trying to connect to from home, where I'm running Vista RTM (Technet just released it a few days ago).

I've installed the latest VPN client beta for Vista, vpnclient-win-msi-4.8.01.0590-k9 on Vista RTM.

My problem is when I go to connect to the ASA, the client stalls at :Contacting the security gateway," and will never sucessfully connect.

I have the Vista firewall off, Defender, etc. I've done as much research as I could on it, and there isn't much out there.

Has anyone experienced this issue, know of a workaround, or am I going to have to wait until Cisco releases the final version?

TIA

7 Replies 7

mlew
Level 1
Level 1

Same issue here..

Seems like they released a new client yesterday, at least according to the date stamp on it.

However, it still doesn't work.

mwwalker57
Level 1
Level 1

I am having the exact same problem. Vista RTM, client 4.8.01.0590. I was able to connect on first boot, but not on subsequent boots. I have tried restarting Both Cisco and IKE services with no success. I get "Reason 442: Failed to enable Virtual Adapter". The "Diagnose" function on the Cisco VPN adapter shows all is in order. Any suggestions? Thanks!

nickham
Level 1
Level 1

We have exactly the same situation, but this behaviour is happening also to Windows XP clients also.

A temporary solution... I have found that a "Repair" install (right click on .MSI, repair) allows me to connect with out uninstall > reboot. Not much of a permanent solution, but it works for now. I have a feeling we are going to have to wait for the next revision for a stable client.

valkyrie75
Level 1
Level 1