cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

VPN Configuration Guidance

ServerCaseUK
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I am new to VPN's and need some help with implementing the right kind of VPN for us.

Our current setup is;

Site A - Datacentre
Cisco ASA
WAN IP (masked for security): 1.1.1.1
LAN IP (masked for security): 2.2.2.2/255.255.255.128
This ASA is set in routed mode. The LAN (inside) IP's are public IP's, routed by the ASA and by our datacentre who gave us the routed 1.1.1.1 address, a little beyond me, but it's setup on their side somehow. You can access various systems within 2.2.2.0 range online, all protected by rules etc.

Site B - Offices
DELL SonicWall NSA 2600
WAN IP (masked for security): 3.3.3.3 
LAN IP: 192.168.10.0/255.255.255.0

What I need to do is connect the Site B to Site A, to create a secure link, so the PCs on Site B (our offices) have secure, encrypted connected to the servers in the datacentre. At present we use IP rules to restrict access to certain ports/hosts from our offices, which works well for SSL encrypted traffic, but we need to now use non-encrypted channels, which is why we need an encrypted VPN.

My question is, on the ASA, do I setup a VPN for Site to Site or Remote Access? My understanding of Site to Site is that it is bidrectional, e.g. Site A can talk to hosts on Site B and visa versa. We only need Site B to access Site A.

At the moment, I can access systems at Site B without a VPN (as none exists), but through IP rules. This is because the Site B IP's are public/Internet facing. However, if I connect a VPN, would I just continue to access the Site B public IP's when the VPN is active and would it simply tunnel the traffic for those, encrypted?

Thank you.

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Hi,