Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco WLC best practices for understand and implement throughput

hello everyone, I immediately state that I have little experience in the wireless field. What I'm trying to do is figure out how to improve a wifi network that has been implemented for some time. the network is made up of cisco ap and cisco wlc 3504. Clearly the goal is to try to improve the available bandwidth and total wifi coverage in the areas, in order to create little interference on the 2.4 ghz band and improve throughput as much as possible. Also, what I'm trying to figure out is how to improve and optimize Microsoft Teams traffic. Obviously, everything is not easy .. since I am learning little by little how the network works. Anyone have any ideas on what I can see to understand how to achieve my goal? Or on what are the best practices?

Thanks

8 Replies 8

Arshad Safrulla
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

throughput + WiFi is not something which can co-exist without running in to problems. So you need to work out a sound plan. Wireless is a very sensitive media, due to non-tangible nature it is prone to interference which we cannot identify easily (even 5GHz), interference could come from your own wireless infra or from another source. I would say get professional help to plan and design the setup and conduct a onsite site survey to study the RF propagation to recommend AP positioning and usage of antennas. That being said below is a very high level of things I would follow, but adopt only after studying your setup and preferably after a survey

1. Run the latest cisco recommended AireOS

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/wireless/wireless-lan-controller-software/200046-tac-recommended-aireos.html