Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco ACI Multicast flow mrib meaning

Hello everybody.

I'm studying about multicast Tenant overlay flow in Cisco ACI.

I'm following this Case Study reference: https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/cloud-systems-management/application-policy-infrastructure-controller-apic/211631-Case-Study-L3-Multicast-in-the-ACI-Fabr.html#:~:text=L3%20multicast%20flows%20run%20across,and%20external%20sources%20and%20r...

It's quite clear but I faced with some interpretation issue about the Mrib verification paragraph.

In this section the document analyzed the mroute entry on one Leaf that's also the multicast FHR on which we have the Multicast source streamer

!!!!! FHR of mcast sources in fabric
sleaf2# show ip mroute vrf common:default
IP Multicast Routing Table for VRF "common:default"

(10.101.101.115/32, 228.0.0.1/32), uptime: 00:17:54, ip pim
Incoming interface: Tunnel16, RPF nbr: 10.0.176.64 (pervasive)
Outgoing interface list: (count: 0)

(10.101.101.116/32, 228.0.0.1/32), uptime: 00:17:54, ip pim

(10.101.101.117/32, 228.0.0.1/32), uptime: 00:17:54, ip pim

Basically for my background multicast understanding there are some incongruence.

For example, because the leaf is the FHR, the RPF should be 0.0.0.0 (I'm the FHR the source it's directly connected on me) and the incoming interface should be the physical or logical interface on which we have the source multicast streamer endpoint.

However the RPF the document reported is the Spine (On real customer infrastructure however I see it's a BL, not the Spine) and the incoming interface it's a tunnel fabric interface through the leaf see all the BL that are PIM neighbor.

Why this, for my undestanding, multicast discrepancy respet traditional "legacy" FHR multicast enabled router?

Which is the logic of the output?

Thanks a lot

Americo

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

M02@rt37
VIP
VIP

Hello @Americo Massotti,