Views
Helpful
Replies

Question with ARP Flooding Handling

BertiniB
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,
I am studying for DCACI, and in the course I am studying (DCACI Cisco U.), the ARP traffic handling left some holes of potential scenarios, a fact that is killing me...
1) What if the Bridge Domain has Unicast Routing enabled and ARP Flooding enabled, BUT the ingress leaf that receives the ARP Request has an entry in the endpoint table with the MAC/IP of the Target EP? Will it still flood the ARP Request? Will it respond directly to the sending endpoint with an ARP Reply with the MAC Address of the Target EP, effectively "impersonating the Target EP"? Will it forward the ARP Request to the Target EP in Unicast through the fabric?
2) Related to the first question: when the ingress leaf of the ARP Request receives the ARP Request, and knows the MAC/IP of the target EP, does it forward the ARP Request or impersonates the Target EP and replies with the MAC/IP of the Target EP?

Image of the course:

BertiniB_0-1706585022161.png

Image of what I understood:

BertiniB_1-1706584740499.png

EDIT: Corrected the first image background.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

RedNectar
VIP
VIP

Hi @BertiniB ,

Sorry, but the first picture is correct.

If an ARP broadcast arrives at a leaf, and ARP flooding is enabled, the Leaf does NOT check its EP table - ARP is always flooded.  I admit I was confused about this when I first started with ACI (I may have even lied to some people accidentally)

But the 2nd bit is more important that you understand

ACI NEVER sends ARP replies unless the ARP request is for it's own IP address (let's skip Proxy ARP at this stage - but even if proxy ARP was enabled, it's a particular use-case:- to enable Proxy ARP, intra-EPG endpoint isolation must be enabled on the EPG)