Views
Helpful
Replies

Quick Question about L2OUT

BertiniB
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am studying for ACI and I came across a situation. I have this subnet that currently only exists in my legacy network, so there are no current EPGs with Bridge Domains in such subnet. If I want to bring the gateway to ACI, would I create a normal EPG or a L2OUT? Is Layer 2 Out only used when extending already existing EPGs with the same subnet to a legacy L2 network?
I am struggling to see the purpose of L2OUT, some say it is useless others say it gives more granularity (security).

EDIT: How would I create a contract between L2OUTs? I can`t get it to work.

BertiniB_0-1692677365536.png

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi @BertiniB ,

So I could use the normal EPGs in two ways, right?
- Create an EPG, add a Physical Domain and assign a Static Port. This way the Legacy Network is contained in an isolated EPG and I can make it behave as an L2OUT would behave with External EPG.

- Use an already existing EPG, add a Physical Domain and assign a new Static Port. This way I can use the contracts of the already existing EPG, and they will behave as they were all in the same VLAN.

Is this line of though correct? As I said I am new to ACI, just got my CCNA rsrs.

Absolutely spot on. Mark you own answer as correct!  The bit about "they will behave as they were all in the same VLAN" is close enough to correct - all VLAN rules change in ACI. For instance, two endpoints in two different VLANs can potentially belong to the same EPG (in this scenario, most likely one of the VLANs was dynamically allocated to a VM Portgroup by ACI and the other statically mapped.  

And congratulations on CCNA. Welcome to the exciting world of computer networking and software development! Hope you have a long and rewarding career.

RedNectar aka Chris Welsh.
Forum Tips: 1. Paste images inline - don't attach. 2. Always mark helpful and correct answers, it helps others find what they need.