Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco GSS 4400 Series advise please

agent2007
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am new to these appliances and am trying to figure out a soltution that meets the following requirements.  Please help.

We have a requirement for a customer where they want to have DNS redundancy and I have some questions.  They want to have an active/active setup across 2 different sites so both DNS records should be live.

1.       Can gss meet that requirement?

2.       Is it possible to send traffic from certain IP addresses to site 1 and then all other IP’s to the site 2 and if one of the sites was to go down it would               automatically just send all traffic to the other?

3.       This domain is a sub-domain (for example test.ward.ie) and the customer will not want to move all the DNS records for ward.ie, Is this possible?

4.       Can it do DNS Global Site Selection

Also, what appliances are available for this?

Thanks a mill

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

venkatkr
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

HI Mill,

Ideally you can contact your cisco reps and they can get you in touch with our PDI helpdesk to help you decide what device and configuration would be required to make this happen.

That said, i can give you few pointers.

GSS is a active active device. The GSS primary standby concept is only applicable for configuring the GSS. Only on the primary GSS you can have the GUI access. At any point, both GSS can respond to a A-Record for any domain configured.

The way you load balance the GSS is by the local D-proxy. The local d-proxy (your local dns server) will send/forward the request from the client to the GSS ip which it has. Some d-proxy's can do round robin.

Example.

There is GSS 1 and GSS 2. Client makes a request for www.help.cisco.com. The local DNS server gets it and he forwards this request to GSS 1 as GSS1 ip is configured on it.

GSS 1 gets the FQDN and finds out that there are two ip's configured for the name resolution.