Views
Helpful
Replies

Difference between Onboarding Templates and Day-N Templates

BlueyVIII
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm fairly new to DNA Centre and struggling to understand the difference between Onboarding Templates and Day-N Templates when creating a network profile.

I've read the documentation but it's still not clear to me. Could someone please let me know the difference, ideally with a use case example. My network mainly comprises of Switches that I'm hoping to automate Plug-n-Play deployment and ongoing configuration for consistency and compliance. I'm not running any SDA at the moment.

BlueyVIII_0-1685643342881.png

Thanks in advance

6 Replies 6

M02@rt37
VIP
VIP

Hello @BlueyVIII,

Onboarding Templates in DNA Center are used for automating the initial provisioning and onboarding process of network devices. They are primarily used with the PnP feature to streamline the deployment of new devices in the network. Onboarding Templates define the configuration settings that should be applied to a device during the onboarding process.

Example: you have a set of new switches that you want to deploy in your network. With an Onboarding Template, you can define the initial configuration settings, such as interface configurations, VLAN assignments, and basic security settings, that should be applied to these switches during the onboarding process. When you connect the new switches to the network, DNA Center will automatically detect them using PnP and apply the defined configuration settings from the Onboarding Template, ensuring consistent and standardized configurations across your network.