Helpful
Replies

DNAC - static port assignment with python

Rajesh Kongath
Level 1
Level 1

Greetings

dnac version 2.2.2.5

we have huge site where we have to assign pools statically, obviously its a cumbersome task due to slow GUI and many pools. Hence we thought of using " /dna/intent/api/v1/business/sda/hostonboarding/user-device". Unfortunately we are ending up with an error while trying more than one port at a time. I am really a newbie in python, appreciate your support.

I tried to follow @Aninda Chatterjee 's code achieve the ports assignment, however that ending with another error mentioning "Device not found" - however i really like his logic, appreciate the efforts.

Every time when we run the code, a dnac event generated as follows " Service request processing has failed with error: This intent (with name 'edge-1.company.com') is outdated as the controller has a newer intent. Resubmit the intent based on the current state of controller.

my code attached below for your reference

#Import required libraries
import requests
import json
from requests.auth import HTTPBasicAuth

# GET the AUTH TOKEN
token = requests.post("https://<DNAC-IP>/dna/system/api/v1/auth/token",auth=HTTPBasicAuth(username="<username>",password="<password>”),
                headers={'content-type': 'application/json'},verify=False,)
data = token.json()
# Assign Token to a variable
token=data['Token']

ports=['4','5']
print  (ports)

for i in ports:
    payload={
    "siteNameHierarchy": "<SiteHierarchy>",
    "deviceManagementIpAddress": "<deviceIP>",
    "interfaceName": "GigabitEthernet1/0/"+i,
    "dataIpAddressPoolName": "IP_Pool",
    "authenticateTemplateName": "Closed Authentication"
    }
    print (payload)
    response =  requests.post ('https://<DNAC-IP>/dna/intent/api/v1/business/sda/hostonboarding/user-device',json=payload,headers={
                    'X-Auth-Token': '{}'.format(token),
                    'Content-type': 'application/json',
                },