Helpful
Comments
ciscomoderator
Community Manager
Community Manager

mamushta.jpg

Maqsood Mushtaq, Software Engineer

Q: What’s your role at Cisco?

I’m a software engineer in the Clients and Mobility Business Unit in Galway, Ireland. Currently, I’m a member of the Jabber for Windows sustaining team, and I also provide technical assistance on forums and to Cisco TAC. Previously, I provided support for Cisco Unified Personal Communicator (CUPC) and Cisco UC Integration for MOC and Lync.

Q: What brought you to the Cisco Support Community?

When we released Jabber, my managers encouraged the development team to visit the Jabber forum in the community to find out what customers were saying and what problems they were experiencing. After that, I continued to participate because sharing my in-depth knowledge of Jabber for Windows benefits customers. My participation also helps our product development efforts because I learn about the issues that customers are experiencing and the improvements they’d like to see.

Q: What’s an example of something you learned in the community that was useful for product development?

Jabber allows you to transfer files as part of instant messaging sessions. In the forums I saw people requesting an option to limit the size of file transfers during instant messaging, to not choke the network. That feature request is now in our backlog. I’ve also seen a few community posts with requests to pull in Active Directory contacts as well as users in the Jabber for Windows search results. That’s another good feature request that we’ve added to the backlog.

Q: At what point in your day do you participate in Cisco Support Community?

I check the forums throughout the day, whenever I have time. I also subscribe to the Jabber Client Support forum so that I receive notifications when something new is posted. A couple of participants are especially knowledgeable, and I make it a point to read their posts because I often learn something new.