Views
Helpful
Comments
admin_2
Level 3
Level 3
Brandon Buffin

bbuffin - Brandon Buffin

When Brandon Buffin began providing desktop support for Ball Homes, the company had one site and one Cisco router. Today, he is the systems administrator for an end-to-end Cisco network spanning seven sites. "The best part about Cisco Support Community is that members discuss real-world network issues-not just theory," he says.

BACKGROUND

Q. How long have you been in the networking industry and why did you get involved in it?

A. I graduated college with a degree in MIS [Management Information Systems] in 2000, and started my career installing point-of-sale systems for a book-store chain. The networking aspect of the job intrigued me immediately, so I started studying networking on my own. In 2001 I received my CompTIA Network + Certification. A few months later my company went out of business and I accepted a position with Ball Homes, providing desktop support. Since then my position has expanded to include server support and network planning. I've earned my CCNA® and CCVP® certifications and have passed the written portion of the CCIE® Voice exam. Now comes the hard part: the lab!

Q. Tell me more about your company.

A. Ball Homes' core business is residential home building in Kentucky. We also have full-service real-estate, mortgage, and rental divisions. When I started, we had one office, with just one Cisco router and a random collection of hubs and switches. Today, we have seven sites with end-to-end Cisco wired and wireless networks that we use for voice and data. I and just one other person support the entire network.

CHALLENGE

Q. What were the specific business challenges you faced that influenced you to use the Cisco Support Community?