cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Display Name filter

SUKAFUN
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Everyone. This is my first post in Cisco Community hope you are able to help me :)

I'm now looking after our company Ironport email appliances which I'm still learning about them.

My first task is to create kind of a filter that looks into the display name of an email (not the email address FROM) and if it doesn't match our domain name then flag as spam. 

For example if someone receives email from John Smith domain.com.au and the sender domain name is different then flag the email. Remember that some external people change their display name and add your domain name and when an email arrives it appears as if it's coming from your domain. I'm not talking about domain spoofing we already have SPF record.

To make it simple I just want to find the right filter that checks if there's domain.com.au in the display name then I'll add the condition.

I read that I'll be able to ably this in filter message which happens before content filters however can't find the right filter syntax. I also found this filter in another Cisco Community link however it comes up as incorrect syntax: header("From") == "(?i)(domain.com.au)"

Cheers

Mo

11 Replies 11

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

For example if someone receives email from John Smith domain.com.au and the sender domain name is different then flag the email

From the above statement : couple of questions ?

1. is this email generating from inside or we discussing outside to inside.

2. So above example : if you already spoof protection in place, how this email get thorugh ?

3. Since you are the owner of  domain.com.au, you have admin control to send and receive emails.

4. Explain how your email process path example ;

Outside to inside 

Internet ----ESA----(Load Balancer)-Exchange

Inside to Outside 

Exchange -----ESA---Inernet ?

here is the admin guide have couple snippets may help you :