cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ip phones don't receive dn or template after issuing ephone reset

mdpones00
Level 1
Level 1

I'm still a little new to iOS programmed telephony.  I recently swapped two handsets, and I needed to change the extensions.  I figured the easiest way would be to ssh into the router, head to the ephone, drop the MACs, and re-register the MACs to the new ephone it coresponded with.  It made logical sense... I don't know what the hell I did wrong, but now, when I issue a reset command to any of our ephones (or simply a power cycle), they don't load the template or have any dial tone.  They DO list the correct date and time, the correct company name at the bottom left, and the correct speed dial buttons.  No actual template for the softkeys or right button configurations are showing, but the speed-dial button is.  No description, no ability to ring the extension, nothing.  This is occuring for ALL phones that get reset on the system now, and NOT just the phones that I swapped...

I do recall issuing a "no telephony-service" command for some reason, I think one of the drop MAC commands I was trying to issue implied I needed to stop the service, and maybe I did the wrong command.  It might make sense that that would be causing these issues on reset phones, seeming like the telephony-service command was a service I could stop and start, but I see no way to "start", so to speak, the telephony-service.

9 Replies 9

Sreekanth Narayanan
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

When you do a no telephony-service, you turn off the service and lose the configuration of all ephones that were done on the CME. Check the following:

1/ Navigate to the Settings -> Status -> Status messages on the phone to see what's happening on them. That should give you the first clue of where the phones are in their stage of registering to the CME.