Views
Helpful
Replies

voip project

Geormili
Level 1
Level 1

Hello...

i am new in all this stuff (voip) and i have to do a project for the university.

What i have to do is to connect two ip phones in order to place a call

between this wo phone (cisco 7905 )

the hardware that i have is a cisco router( 1700 series) a cisco switch( catalyst 2950 series) a cisco pc (MCS 7800 series) with windows 2000 and call manager 3.3.

I don't need o make any outcoming calls or incoming . only calls from one phone to the other.

What i managed to do until know is to connect all this stuf and to configure the call manager and DHCP but i must has done something wrong...

The ip phones passes alla the tests ( configuring ip via DHCP etc.) but after all this the phones then restarts and do all this from the begining....

i have read deferent thinks on the internet but i just confused more.

can someone guide me one what to read and in witch ored i have to do think (for example if (and somewhere to read how) i have to configure DHCP first an then CCM (i did it in this order) what i have to configure in CCM and in witch order etc.  ?

P.S sry for my english (it's being a long time since i last wrote something in english)

17 Replies 17

thnks everyone for the help...

i had to do manual ip confiugration as armit said and everythink works fine know....

gohlex8848
Level 1
Level 1

Hi George,

Basically for this simple setup, I don't think a router is needed.

Since you confirmed the DHCP is working fine, then what you can do to test Is directly connect the two IP phone to the 2950 switch and of course the Call manager server in the same switch too.

Make sure the phone is getting the ip from dhcp server with the option 150 too (you can press the setting button on the phone and check the network detail)