Views
Helpful
Replies

Some basic AXL sql questions

Keith Abbott
Level 1
Level 1

Good Day,

I am a complete beginner with AXL, Java, and Eclipse IDE.

I have been trying to begin learning in these areas by reviewing what information I can find online, but am struggling!

Ive been able to do some basic stuff like getphone to pull phone device information, and set a phone device description ( as a basic step) using UpdatePhoneReq. But I just havent had any luck trying to run SQL queries via axl.

There seems to be a couple different methods for accomplishing an SQL query.

One appears to be by simply defining the query in a string, then using 'ExecuteSQLQueryReq' in a manner similiar to the code below:

String sSQLQuery = "SELECT * FROM numplan"; //V2
ExecuteSQLQueryReq axlParams = new ExecuteSQLQueryReq();
axlParams.setSql(sSQLQuery);

try{
 ExecuteSQLQueryRes getSQLResponse = axlPort.executeSQLQuery(axlParams);
 List<Object> returnList = new ArrayList<Object>(); //added to orig
 returnList = getSQLResponse.getReturn().getRow();

for (Object object : returnList) {
  System.out.println(object.toString() + "\n");
 }

} catch (AXLError e ) {
  System.out.println("An AXLError occurred:" + e.getFaultInfo());
 }
}

I can get this method to run, but no matter how I try to enumerate what should be the returned values, I just get Row: null; entries in the output (it does contain the correct number of rows tho...) (I should also mention that when I pull the axl logs from call manager(10.5 btw), the query looks properly formed and no errors are shown. I dont see any response information in the log but I dont know that I am supposed to)

The other method appears to be by constructing the soap structures manually like this:

<soapenv:Envelope xmlns:soapenv="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/" xmlns:ns="http://www.cisco.com/AXL/API/8.5">
	   <soapenv:Header/>
	   <soapenv:Body>
	      <ns:executeSQLQuery sequence="1">
	         <sql>select * from processnode</sql>