Views
Helpful
Replies

802.1x Authentication

kevin.hong1
Level 1
Level 1

Dear All,

I need help on how to setup an 802.1x authentication using a radius server, switch and a laptop.

Can anyone guide me on how to do the setup as I have zero knowledge about this?

13 Replies 13

Francesco Molino
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi

I've already answered this kind of question. 

I will drop here the link. Let have a read and let me know if you need more information.

https://supportforums.cisco.com/discussion/13042996/cisco-ise-small-network-deployment

http://www.cisco.com/c/dam/en/us/td/docs/solutions/CVD/Aug2014/CVD-CampusDot1XDesignGuide-AUG14.pdf

The 1st link if for switch configuration and 2nd is from Cisco for ISE configuration

Which server you're planning to use as radius?

Thanks

PS: Please don't forget to rate and mark as correct answer if this solved your issue

Thanks
Francesco
PS: Please don't forget to rate and select as validated answer if this answered your question

Hi!

I do not have a radius server, but I am suppose to configure the 802.1x authentication to confirm that the configuration is correct.

Is there any radius server software which you have used before, because I may be posting more questions as I really have no idea about this authentication system.

Hi I'm always using Cisco ACS or Cisco ISE today. There is also the one integrated with Microsoft Windows server called NCS.

These are the 3 most common solutions on enterprise architecture.

You can't test 802.1x without radius server. 

There is freeradius, I used few times but it looks more complex if you don't have any Linux skills.

Thanks

PS: Please don't forget to rate and mark as correct answer if this solved your issue 

Thanks
Francesco
PS: Please don't forget to rate and select as validated answer if this answered your question

Hi! supportlan,

Thanks for your links, but I think I have difficulty understanding and I also do not know how to start or where to start.

Hi