Helpful
Replies

802.1x VLAN assignment + Microsoft IAS

BABARCHE
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

Here is what I am tring to do:

a Windows XP client is authenticating via 802.1x to a cisco switch. The switch "talks" to a IAS radius serveur (microsoft). That works fine, the user can login and the port opens up. Cisco developed a feature in a recent software release whereby the radius server can also tell the switch what VLAN to place the freshly-authenticated port in (that's the part I can't get to work - the fact that I am totally new to Radius probably doesn't help either). I know that the switch expects the following parameters within the Access-accept:

a) Tunnel-Type(#64)=VLAN (13)

b) Tunnel-Medium-Type(#65)=802 (6)

c) Tunnel-Private-Group-ID(#81)=VLANID

How Can I define these parameters in IAS ? I tried severals things but know one worked. If someone has experience, please let me know .... Thanx !

Bastien

12 Replies 12

hadbou
Level 5
Level 5

Check if the tag field for tunnel attribute is set to 1 instead of the default value of 0 in the Microsoft IAS server.

thanx for your answer.

Thanx for your answer.

I tried that but I think I made mistakes because it

doesn't work.

What I need to know is what I have to enter precisely :

- Which kind of attribute ? Cisco AVPAIR or radius vendor

specific attribute or something else ?

- Which value in the field : Tunnel-Type(#64) or just 64

or just Tunnel-Type or just #64 or 13 ?

- Which value in the field atttribute format ? string,

decimal or hexadecimal ?

Thanx very much !!

ok ! forget my previous mail.

I found how to define the attributes in IAS.

But it stills not working. I don't found where I can change this flag you're talking about. Could you help me ?

Thanx ...

I also had a similair problem, I was using a steel belt radius. I changed the

ACS radius flag and it worked for me.

Ok ... Thanx ... I still do not find where to change this flag in IAS ....