Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco ISE profiling- OUI Lookup

Phillip Noret
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,
I'm fairly new to using ISE profiling and we're keen to make a push from MAB to using device profiles. We have the ISE profiler feed enabled and it claims that new updates are applied.

What we've found is that some devices are showing as unknown which we know to correct is for additional work on creating and amending profiles. What is perplexing me is how ISE performs an OUI check. For example, we have 5 HP printers, 3 show their OUI as "Hewlett Packard" and the other two show as "unknown". When we check the mac addresses of the unknown devices on an OUI check, they show as "Hewlett Packard" just as the devices that ISE recognises as "Hewlett Packard". We have other, similar instances of this behaviour.

Is there something i have to do on ISE for it to periodically check an OUI database with unknown MAC addresses? Or should an OUI database be downloaded within the Profiler Feed update? Is there a way to view what OUI data ISE has currently?

We're currently using ISE 2.7 latest patch but we are also migrating to ISE 3.3 now. The above is observed in ISE 2.7 but i wanted to ask in case we experience the same in version 3.3

Best Wishes

Phillip Noret

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Phillip Noret
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

Thank you for taking the time to respond. We have spent some time with our ISE appliances and came to the conclusion that the profiler feed may not be working. We then disabled, reconfigured and re-enabled the feed and after five days we've started to observe that many devices, including HP printers that were showing as "Unknown" are now starting to match the vendor as listed in public OUI databases.