Views
Helpful
Replies

EAP-TLS with MAC Address Whitelist

CMack6
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everyone! 

First, let me preference this post with this is my first time working with ISE and 802.1x.  So, thank you for your patience and assistance!!!

I have ISE v3.0 right now – I am going to upgrade to v3.1 prior to starting this deployment.  I will be using EAP-TLS and EAP-TTLS (inner method EAP-MSCHAPv2).  I have to utilize both as half of my IoT devices do not support EAP-TLS at this time. 

What I am wanting to do (to meet my company’s standards) is to require the 802.1x authentication to be successful AND have the MAC Address on a whitelist.  Obviously, if the 802.1x authentication fails, access is blocked to the port.  But what I am looking for assistance for is if 802.1x authentication is successful, but the MAC is not on a whitelist, then that port gets moved to a honey pot and or the port just gets disabled.  So, a multi-factor format here. 

Is this possible in ISE?  Thank you!!

CMack6_1-1678368487946.png

3 Replies 3

Rodrigo Diaz
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

hello @CMack6  , yes it's possible to have such configurations on ISE what you need to do in this scenario is to create an authorization rule that is going to include 2 conditions, one that links the mac address that you have listed in a group and another include the condition for EAP-TLS please refer to the example that I am posting below :

RodrigoDiaz_1-1678378391230.png

RodrigoDiaz_2-1678378453754.png

In case the authorization rule is not hit , in this scenario you can enforce another rule below and deny the endpoints that are not listed in the endpoint identity group . 

Let me know if that helped you . 

hslai
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

@CMack6  Adding to what suggested above...