Views
Helpful
Replies

ISE vs Packet Fence

yoshipower
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I'm currently studying a solution for AAA in my company. Since I've got an almost full Cisco network architecture, I've read a lot about ISE.

But recently I hear about Packet Fence, an open source project which seems to offer the same features.

So I'd like to get some of your advices about this software against ISE : is it worth it to get it ? What are advantages and drawbacks of this one ?

Since we're on a Cisco forum i'm not expecting you to tell me that Packet Fence is better, but I'd just like to get objective reviews.

Thankfully,

Yoshipower.

5 Replies 5

Ravi Singh
Level 7
Level 7

Hello Yoshipower,

I have gone through PacketFence features and I appreciate as an open source it is providing lot of features which is available in Cisco ISE. But I would like to inform you that it does not provide Mobile device Management Technology which is provided by ISE. ISE is providing Real-time Location tracking system as well as it is supported connected mobile experience and moreover highly qualified engineer to support the customer as and when they needed.

For more deatil on ISE you can go to below link.

www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/vpndevc/ps5712/ps11640/at_a_glance_c45-726284.pdf

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/vpndevc/ps5712/ps11637/ps11195/qa_c67-658591.html

Hi Ravi,

I am also looking at the same options and I was heading entirely in the ISE direction until I realised that there is not full support for non-WLC WiFi systems.  So since I have an AP1141 this seems to mean that I would be as well to go with Packet Fence as the best I will get from either solution is basic 802.1x authentication?

Footnote number 4 on Table 1 of this document seems to cover most of the limitations:-

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/security/ise/1.0.4/compatibility/ise104_sdt.html