cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

CBS350 SSH setup guide

HF Martini6
Level 1
Level 1

I'm quite new to Network administration so excuse the very basic newbie question.

I'm trying to get SSH working on CBS350-24T-4X and CBS350-8XT devices but it just doesn't work and I'm not even sure why that is. I'm working with the CLI through a terminal cable using MobaXterm.The goal would be to remotely access the switches through SSH for administration purposes.

Is there a step by step guide or video or am I just going at this completely wrong?

6 Replies 6

HF Martini6
Level 1
Level 1

thank you very much @balaji.bandi and @DanielP211 

I've seen that Video which is for older switches not the CBS350, isn't there a way of doing it with the CLI?
I have 13 switches to set up and there's more to come so going in through the webGUI will take a lot of time, I was hoping fopr something I could maybe even work into the config files.

@HF Martini6 

I'm not aware about any guide for it, but just to enable the SSH service type:

MSW3#configure
MSW3#ip ssh server

You can, of course, type "ip ssh ?" to see all options.

Kris K

HF Martini6
Level 1
Level 1

after a bit of back and forth I added this to the cfg:

ip ssh server
ip ssh-client server authentication
ip ssh-client username ------
ip ssh-client password ------
ip ssh-client source-interface vlan 3

the last line is because of:

interface vlan 3
 name Management------
 ip address 10.-.-.--- 255.255.255.0

KJK99
Level 3
Level 3
I use only these 3 commands.
ip ssh server
ip ssh logging enable
ip ssh password-auth