Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco SMP Configuration with PRTG Software

killian123211
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

This is my first time posting on here though I've been a lurker for a while now.  

I've dipped in and out of Cisco over the years (sat Network+ several years ago) but am now responsible for managing a small (1600 user) network running on Cisco equipment.  We are in the process of refereshing this core due to a recent failure but I'd like to get some SNMP monitoring setup to keep an eye on things.

I've inherited this in weird circumstances as the business were previously under a managed service who weren't performing so documentation is very sparse.  I'm currently studying CCNA to increase my knowledge and have passed my CCENT and working on getting it up to a full CCNA.  So my knowledge is reasonable but I aknowledge I'm not quite there yet so reluctant to go poking around in the dark.

We have a Cisco Catalyst 6509 (which I've since been told is way over spec'd for our size).  From what I can see the managed service have previously enabled SNMP and possibly also Netflow though I would like to change these now to point to our new monitoring software (we have no access to the software the previous managed service had implemented).  These are the lines I can pick up from the Core.  As an aside I'm not too sure here what is and isn't 'specific' or 'generic' so I've just blanked things out with X's to be safe;

snmp-server engineID local XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
snmp-server community XXXXXX RO
snmp-server host XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX version 2c XXXXXX

I've tried looking through Cisco's articles around SNMP but can't make heads or tail of it or perhaps I've not spent long enough on it yet.  Would anyone care to help out in this instance?  I can replace the IP address under the SNMP-Server host and use the same community string on both sides but not sure if that will work.  I also can't see any SNMP traps enabled.

If I do a show snmp I get the following (again with X's);