Views
Helpful
Replies

EEM Script for Primary and backup Layer2 Links

darren.frowen
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

Sorry but I am new to EEM and would like a sanity check on my two EEM applets. We are trying to isolate our two DC's at layer2 from Spanning tree topology, filter BPDU's on all EoMPLS uplinks to create two active DC's. To prevent loops we have the backuplink shut and Primary active. If the primary was to fail then the back should be brought up and also taken down once the Primary comes back up. This is per Cisco recomendations for L2 DC to DC inteconnects and redundant links. The two applets are as follows;

event manager session cli username "XXXXXX"

event manager applet Enable_Backup_Link

event syslog pattern "Interface GigabitEthernet1/0/39, changed state to down"

action 1.0 cli command "enable"

action 1.1 cli command "configure terminal"

action 1.2 cli command "interface gig2/0/45"

action 1.3 cli command "no shut"

action 1.4 syslog msg "Primary link went down, backup activated via EEM"

event manager session cli username "XXXXXX"

event manager applet Disable_Backup_Link

event syslog pattern "Interface GigabitEthernet1/0/39, changed state to up"

action 1.0 cli command "enable"

action 1.1 cli command "configure terminal"

action 1.2 cli command "interface gig2/0/45"

action 1.3 cli command "shut"

action 1.4 syslog msg "Primary link back up, backup deactivated via EEM"

Would the above two applets work as expected in my brief?

Thanks in advance

Regards

Darren

10 Replies 10

avayner
Level 1
Level 1

Darren,

On which device are you running these scripts? It seems like this is a single device that terminates both primary and backup links, so it is actually a single point of failure...

There is a more advanced solution where the EEM scripts are deployed between 2 redundant nodes, and we use a semaphore concept to maintain a distributed state machine across both nodes.

Take a look here: