Helpful
Replies

EEM Script to Automate DHCP/NAT changes on WAN address

Jmyhndrx123
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I'm new to eem scrpting.

I need to know if it's possible to write a simple script on a DHCP cilent used for a backup in a Call center.

If power is lost or a connection it lost to the WAN interface the address will change from time to time. It does happen.

I have a bunch of static nat and port forwarding statements that don't work after the address change.

Is there a way to tell the router "consider all of the subnet possible addresses in a /192 subnet situation" ?

Then translate all nat statements to the new WAN address?

Thanks

I'm not sure if I'm asking the right question yet but that is close.

Back up router is a DHCP client and changes addresses from time to time. The router is a 3825 running 12.3 adventerprise image.

It''s not going to be updated past that.

Thanks again

evan

5 Replies 5

Joe Clarke
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

I'm still not clear what you want.  When configuring NAT, you don't have to specify a pool.  You can specify an interface name instead so that translation always happens to that interface:

ip nat inside source list 101 interface Gi0/1 overload

Plus, if you only have 12.3 mainline code, you do not have the capability to do what you want with EEM.  You would need 12.3(14)T or higher to be able to do Tcl and EEM scripting.

Thanks Joseph,

I guess I can't do it in any case because of the IOS ver. it's actually 12.3 (11).

We have a lot of static port forwarding going on. I not sure how it's going to work when the WAN address changes.

I was looking for a way to keep all of the one to one static nat statements working to the inside servers. Eventually they have to get a static ip address for the backup.

Thanks again.

evan

p.s. how would one do it if we get the updated ios ver. I see problems coming if I don't take some proactive measure.