cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How can I prepare myself?

shamika
Level 1
Level 1

I've recently got a job offer at a major tech company as a network engineer. The network at this company is completely automated and network engineers are responsible for writing and maintaning the code that runs the network. Effectively a software engineer who has extensive networking knowledge. I've never had a position like this before, my current role is much more like a traditional network engineer role where I manage the routers and switches directly. I've done a few Python and Bash scripts to automate a few tasks, but I've never done proper enterprise level coding before. I barely even know how to use Gilt. Making the transition is definitely a daunting task. Anyone make a transition like this before that has some advice for me?

3 Replies 3

Hi

What I would  do is to be honest during the intervew and say that I have some knowledge and I am willing to learn and fill the gaps. One mistake some people commit is not say the truth and get yourself in a situation where you can not do the job properly. 

For network admin I believe  is ok getting into a job not knowing deeply like a specific protocol and study after. After all, vendor like cisco have everything quite well documented and you can do Labs, test and learn before put in production. But coding is a whole different thing because it envolves deep knowledge of the language and a lot of  logic. 

If you dont have experience, I dont believe you can fill the gap by watching a youtube vídeo or reading a doc while figure out how to do.