Views
Helpful
Replies

How to give a second network access to internet

orlguerra
Level 1
Level 1

Newbie here.

I have two vlans on a single cisco switch. Vlan 10 is is getting its ip address from the dhcp server and internet access from a sonicwall firewall.

I added Vlan 20 to that same switch. These two vlans will not or should not communicate with each other. Vlan 20 is getting  its ip address from the dhcp server. but i cannot get internet access.

Do i need to connect a separate ethernet cable and configure the internal interface X# on the sonicwall for Vlan 20?

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Thank you for the additional information. It is helpful to know that the connection from switch to firewall is a routed link and that the switch is doing some routing. Based on this I have these comments:

1) If the switch is routing then you do not need the command ip default-gateway. This is ignored when ip routing is enabled. Having the command does not hurt anything. But it is not doing any good and I suggest that you clean it up.

2) The command ip route 10.0.109.0 255.255.255.0 10.0.7.9 is not correct. This indicates that to get to the subnet you go to 10.0.7.9 (which I assume is the firewall). But that subnet is locally connected. If you do show ip route on the switch you will see that the subnet shows as locally connected and not static routed.

3) I am not clear what Gigibitethernet1/0/13 is and why it is configured as a trunk. The description indicates Guest WiFi. If this is going to WiFi and you do not want vlan 20 to communicate with vlan 10 then why is the trunk carrying vlan 10?